top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Tedeschi

1 Year in Oz: A Summary

It's crazy to think about summarizing what has been one of the most life-changing years of my life. I feel like I could say so much about the country, the church, the college, and the people. Here is a little snippet of it all.



The Country

Okay, Oz has my heart, fully and completely. The culture shock was definitely real the first week when I realized that I had replaced deer for kangaroos and crows were a size of a small dog and sounded like dying goats. Everything was similar, yet different. I've gotten used to living a simpler lifestyle. One that relies on metros and trains rather than highways and cars. I walk most places, and I've learned a form of self-sufficiency that I didn't know I needed. It's new and fun, perfect for what I need in my current season of life.



The Church

Very rarely have I ever stepped into a church and thought "home". But that's how it should always feel. After I lost Taylor, I struggled with the idea of home, because he had become it for me. It didn't matter where on earth I was, because the home was Taylor. I found it then, as a little blessing, that the sign at the entrance of Hillsong church says "Welcome Home". And so, this year I have been firmly planted in my new home. On Sunday mornings I served in coffee carts as well as danced in some Sunday night services. I've also served in other church events such as Sisterhood, Colour Conference (all women's conference), Hillsong Conference and others. I honestly loved being a small part of each of those events. Watching people pour their time, energy, passion, giftings and love into the greater good of others and the Church as a whole is incredible to watch and be a part of. Serving has been a huge part of the healing process for me, as it has taken me out of life's circumstances and reminded me of what it's all about.




The College

I remember after the first week of school thinking, "there is no place on earth like Hillsong College". Honestly, what I've learned in a year I think every Christian needs as a solid foundation in their lives. The Dance Stream was an incredible experience in itself. I learned so many practical ways to run a dance ministry and I got to experience dance in the healthiest environment I've ever been in. It was challenging, to say the least, but it was in areas that I knew needed growth and I learned so much about dance and myself. As an assessment, the first semester we choreographed and performed our solos and the second semester we choreographed and performed out own group pieces as well as a collaboration with 3 others. I felt so blessed to dance again, especially when I was ready to give it all up in April of 2018. Dance has also played a huge part in my healing process, as it has brought me back to my roots, allowed me to express emotion and worship God through movement.



The People

I could truly go on and on about the amazing, life long friends that I've made in school. I will say, that the first few months were anything but easy. Grief is a difficult journey in itself, and a lot to bring into a new friendship. But God is so good and in no time friendships began to develop into the gems that they are today. Hillsong welcomes students from all over the world, meaning I have the opportunity to meet people from all walks of life. Once a semester we have a specific chapel called International Chapel, where everyone gathers with their nation to celebrate. We all worship and stand together in prayer for the nations all over the world. It's breathtaking and I am so honored and blessed to be a part of it. The people truly make it the welcoming and nurturing environment that Hillsong is and my year of growth and healing wouldn't be the same without them.




So, all of that to say, this year has been a beautiful one, full of mountains and valleys. More than anything, my passion for the Church and the Kingdom itself has grown beyond what I ever could have expected. I've also found a new passion for studying the Bible and investing in Ministry. To be honest, that hunger began within the first week and hasn't stopped. I knew I was supposed to stay another 2 years after about a month of being at college. I am so excited about what lies ahead, and although most of it seems to be unknown, I trust God waits for me in my future. He's always able to do more than I can ask, think or imagine.



If you have any specific questions about Hillsong College, please don't hesitate to reach out!

193 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page